Team Asia vs. Team Europe in the Inaugural Reyes Cup, October 17-20

The countdown begins for Team Asia vs. Team Europe, set for October 17-20.

Eklent Kaçi and Aloysius Yapp are the first players confirmed to compete in the inaugural Reyes Cup, partnered with Puyat Sports Inc. and broadcast by Sky Sports in the UK and Ireland. The Reyes Cup will follow a four-day team format similar to the Mosconi Cup, featuring the best of Team Asia against Team Europe from October 17-20.

The 2024 World Pool Championship marked the initial qualification stage for the first two players for both teams.

Eklent Kaçi from Albania was the first to qualify for Team Europe after finishing as the runner-up at the 2024 World Pool Championship, elevating him to third in the World Nineball Tour (WNT) rankings.

Kaçi said: “I’m thrilled to be part of the first-ever Reyes Cup. Competing at this level and representing Team Europe for the first time is an incredible honour, and I can’t wait to showcase my talent at this prestigious tournament.”

Aloysius Yapp from Singapore, maintaining his position at 10th in the WNT rankings, became the first player to join Team Asia.

Yapp said: “It’s an amazing feeling to be selected for Team Asia in the inaugural Reyes Cup. I am excited to compete against the best and bring my best game to the table. This tournament is going to be something special.”

Qualification for the Reyes Cup will continue in two more stages. One player for each team will be announced following the European Open in Fulda, Germany, and the US Open Pool Championship in Atlantic City, USA. These selections will be based on the 2024 one-year rankings for both Team Asia and Team Europe.

The inaugural Reyes Cup will be held in Manila, the capital of the Philippines, in honour of Efren ‘Bata’ Reyes, the legendary pool player after whom the tournament is named. A World Pool Championship and US Open Pool Championship winner, Reyes is widely regarded as the sport’s greatest-ever player, inspiring millions of pool fans worldwide.

The tournament will adopt the four-day team format of the Mosconi Cup, which celebrated its 30th anniversary at Alexandra Palace, London last December. Team Asia will feature the top-three ranked players from the World Nineball Rankings one-year list, along with two additional wildcards selected by the Team Asia captain.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap