30th Anniversary World Pool Masters: Matchups Revealed for High-Stakes Showdown

The matchups for the 30th Anniversary of the World Pool Masters have been determined, featuring defending champion Ko Pin Yi facing off against David Alcaide in the tournament’s opening match. Taking place from April 25-28, 2024, at Halle39 in Hildesheim, Germany, the event is organized locally by Moltke Sports and broadcasted by Sky Sports.

Continuing last year’s challenging format, 16 players will vie for a share of the $125,000 prize pool, with the winner taking home $40,000. The opening round will see matches played to a Race to 9 format, utilizing the Matchroom break box and featuring magic-racking and winner breaks. Subsequent rounds will escalate in length, stretching to Race to 10 for the quarterfinals, 11 for the semifinals, and 13 for the final.

Invitations were extended to the top 14 players from the World Nineball Tour Rankings following the FSR91 Open, with two wildcard entries added. The draw, conducted two weeks prior to the opening matches, saw seeded players (1-8) paired against the remaining contenders.

Defending champion Ko Pin Yi is set to clash with ‘El Matador’ David Alcaide in the first round, while World Champion Francisco Sanchez Ruiz will face wildcard James Aranas. Notably, Shane Van Boening, aiming for redemption after last year’s upset, will take on Duong Quoc Hoang, with the winner potentially facing the victor of Jayson Shaw versus Aloysius Yapp.

In another intriguing matchup, Albin Ouschan will confront former World Cup of Pool teammate Max Lechner in an all-Austrian showdown, with the winner potentially facing either Fedor Gorst or ‘The Panda’ Mario He. Additional exciting pairings include Joshua Filler versus Eklent Kaçi, and Ko Ping Chung against Wiktor Zielinski.

Round 1 Draw:

  • Francis Sanchez Ruiz vs James Aranas
  • David Alcaide vs Ko Pin Yi
  • Joshua Filler vs Eklent Kaçi
  • Ko Ping Chung vs Wiktor Zielinski
  • Shane Van Boening vs Duong Quoc Hoang
  • Jayson Shaw vs Aloysius Yapp
  • Albin Ouschan vs Max Lechner
  • Fedor Gorst vs Mario He

The event will be broadcasted globally, with coverage available on various networks including Dazn (USA, Brazil, Spain, Italy), Sky Network (New Zealand), Viaplay (Baltics, Scandinavia, Netherlands, Poland, Iceland), and more, offering fans worldwide the opportunity to witness the thrilling competition.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap