2024 World Women’s Snooker Championship: A Clash of Titans in Dongguan, China

2024 World Women’s Snooker Championship Kicks Off in Dongguan, China

The highly anticipated 2024 World Women’s Snooker Championship is set to commence next Monday, March 11, at the newly selected venue, Changping Gymnasium, Dongguan, China. The championship promises to be a thrilling event, featuring top-notch players from around the globe.

Group A: Siripaporn Nuanthakhamjan Aims for Title Defense

Reigning world champion Siripaporn Nuanthakhamjan will start her title defense in Group A, seeking another strong run in a tournament where she consistently reaches at least the quarter-final stage. Joining her are players like Miina Tani of Japan, Wing Man Shiu of Hong Kong China, Han Fang of China, and Mongolia’s Zolboo Unurbayar, all making their Tour debut.

Group B: Rebecca Kenna Eyes Further Success

World number four Rebecca Kenna embarks on her seventh quest for the title in Group B. Known for her consistency, Kenna faces tough competition from the likes of Mongolia’s Narantuya Bayarsaikhan, Yee Ting Cheung of Hong Kong China, and two Chinese debutants, Li Bi Han, and Xia Yu Ying.

Group C: Bai Yulu Seeks Redemption

Home favorite Bai Yulu, a 2023 runner-up, aims to claim the World Women’s Snooker Championship title in Group C. Alongside her are world number 12 Diana Schuler of Germany, Pui Ying Chu of Hong Kong China, Chan Wai Lam, and Urantuul Tsolmon of Mongolia, both making their Tour debut.

Group D: Reanne Evans Eyes Historic Victory

Record twelve-time world champion Reanne Evans is determined to lift the Mandy Fisher Trophy in Group D. The English player faces tough competition from So Man Yan of Hong Kong China, Narucha Phoemphul of Thailand, and debutants Erdenetugs Dash of Mongolia and Deng Xin Shun of China.

Group E: Ng On Yee Returns as In-Form Player

Three-time winner Ng On Yee returns to the World Women’s Snooker Championship in Group E, aiming to improve her recent World Championship record. Challengers include India’s Natasha Chethan, home player Lynn Shi, and Mongolia’s Byambasuren Sergelenbaatar.

Group F: Mink Nutcharut Leads Group of Challenges

World number one Mink Nutcharut headlines Group F, facing challenges from experienced Hong Kong China duo Jaique Ip Wan In and Mei Mei Fong, along with debutants Liu Wei Yi Lu of China and Mongolia’s Jambaa Sosorbaram.

Group G: Tessa Davidson’s 12th Appearance

England’s Tessa Davidson makes her 12th appearance in Group G, aiming to surpass her last 16 achievements from the past two years. She is joined by Yee Ki Ho of Hong Kong China, India’s Mohitha R T., and debutants Yang Meng of China and Otgonbayar Jigden of Mongolia.

Group H: Emma Parker Targets Strong Performance

Former world under-21 champion Emma Parker leads Group H, seeking a strong performance after reaching the quarter-finals in 2022. She faces tough competition from India’s Amee Kamani, Hong Kong China’s Katrina Wan, and Chinese debutants Liu Zi Ling and He Dan Ni.

Group I: Mary Talbot Leads Final Round Robin Group

Reigning Eden Masters champion Mary Talbot headlines the final round robin group, looking to continue her remarkable season. She faces challenges from rising star Anupama Ramachandran of India, Yuk Fan Lau of Hong Kong China, and debutants Altangerel Bolortuya of Mongolia and China’s Mo Tian Tian. The competition promises intense clashes and exciting moments as these skilled players vie for the prestigious title.

TOURNAMENT FORMAT: SOURCE: World Women’s Snooker (WWS) Website

The main event format will be as follows:

  • The 45 players have been drawn into nine groups of five. Two players have been seeded per group, with the number one seed paired with the 18th seed, number two seed paired with the 17th seed and so on.
  • The top two players and five best third places from each group will progress to the knockout stage
    • The nine group winners will progress straight to the last 16
    • The nine group runner-ups, plus five best third places will play a preliminary round match for the final seven places
  • All qualifiers from the group stages will be positioned in the knockout draw according to group stage performance in line with our established qualifying criteria

Group matches will be played over the best of five frames, knockout rounds to be 5/7/7/9/11.

The Under-21 and Seniors matches tournaments will be played over the best of five frames (all rounds)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap