Ronnie O’Sullivan Clinches Eighth MrQ Masters Title in Historic Victory Over Ali Carter

Picture Credit: World Snooker

Ronnie O’Sullivan secured his eighth MrQ Masters championship by defeating Ali Carter 10-7 in a captivating final at Alexandra Palace. At 48 years old, O’Sullivan’s triumph makes him the oldest Masters champion, surpassing Stuart Bingham’s record. He now holds the distinction of being the oldest winner across all three Triple Crown events.

Following his December victory at the UK Championship, O’Sullivan has set the stage for a historic achievement—winning all three Triple Crown titles in a single season. This milestone could become a reality if he emerges victorious at the World Championship at the Crucible in May.

The Rocket’s latest Masters triumph extends his record to eight, surpassing Stephen Hendry’s previous mark of six. With 23 Triple Crown titles to his name, O’Sullivan now stands five ahead of Hendry’s tally of 18.

Ali Carter, the German Masters champion, faced his fourth defeat in as many Triple Crown finals. Despite his runner-up status in today’s final and a loss to Bingham four years prior, Carter found solace in the £100,000 runner-up prize. His earlier runner-up finishes came against O’Sullivan in the Crucible finals of 2008 and 2012.

In the evening session, Carter initially led 5-3 but found himself drawn level by O’Sullivan at 6-6 after a stunning display, featuring breaks of 58, 64, and 53. Carter managed to regain the lead at 7-6 with a sublime 127 break, setting a new tournament record with his ninth century. However, O’Sullivan responded by winning the 14th frame to equalize.

A pivotal 15th frame saw a back-and-forth battle, with Carter ultimately missing a crucial pink, allowing O’Sullivan to take the lead for the first time since the match’s outset. O’Sullivan secured the victory with a determined 89 break in the 16th frame, reaching the 9-7 scoreline. Despite Carter’s chances in the 17th frame, the Rocket sealed another significant triumph, claiming the £250,000 top prize.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap