WPBSA Annual General Meeting 2023: New Directors Elected and Acknowledging Contributions

Picture Credit: WPBSA website

The Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the World Professional Billiards and Snooker Association (WPBSA) took place today 13th December, 2024 at the BetVictor Scottish Open in Edinburgh.

During the AGM, the Accounts and Directors Report, along with the latest independently audited accounts, were presented to the members and unanimously accepted. Seven candidates, namely Mark Davis, Mike Dunn, Peter Lines, Shaun Murphy, Barry Pinches, Matthew Selt, and Ben Woollaston, stood for election to the Board of WPBSA Players.

With three seats up for grabs, the outcome saw Mark Davis, Shaun Murphy, and Matthew Selt successfully elected by the membership.

WPBSA Governance Chairman Jason Ferguson expressed his delight at the high level of engagement from the membership in player affairs, with an 80% turnout determining the three vacancies on the Board of WPBSA Players. He welcomed the newly elected members and highlighted their passion for the sport’s growth and providing valuable player input.

Ferguson thanked outgoing directors Mike Dunn and Peter Lines for their significant contributions over the past four years. He acknowledged their roles in various projects, including key constitutional changes leading to the creation of WPBSA Players, as well as the launch and expansion of the WPBSA Q Tour. Their representation of member concerns during the unprecedented COVID-19 pandemic in 2020 was also appreciated.

The AGM results include the unanimous acceptance of the Accounts and Directors Report. Mark Davis, Shaun Murphy, and Matthew Selt were elected as directors with 57, 29, and 50 votes, respectively. Mike Dunn and Peter Lines did not secure re-election, receiving 11 and 13 votes, respectively. Barry Pinches and Ben Woollaston received 8 and 28 votes in their election bids.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap