Mark Selby: A Snooker Legend’s Remarkable Journey to Success

Mark Selby (Photo: Sky Sports)

In 1999, Mark Selby embarked on his professional snooker journey, a path that would eventually lead to a legendary career.

Known as the “master of brinkmanship” and a formidable contender in significant match finals, Selby’s early years were not without struggles. Between 2003 and 2014, he faced defeat in eight out of his first 11 ranking event finals.

However, glimpses of his immense potential had already surfaced before the 2014 World Snooker Championship. Just over six years prior, Selby secured the first of his famous hat-trick of Masters titles in London and soon claimed his maiden ranking title.

A pivotal moment in his rivalry with Ronnie O’Sullivan unfolded in the 2008 Welsh Open final, where Selby staged a remarkable comeback from 8-5 down, ultimately denying O’Sullivan in a decider.

The rivalry intensified with encounters in Masters finals between 2009 and 2014. Yet, it was during the 2014 World Championship at the Crucible that Selby’s career took a transformative turn.

From a daunting 10-5 deficit, Selby showcased his trademark tactical prowess, gradually wearing down his opponent to secure victory. This marked the beginning of a remarkable era for the Leicester native, with further world titles in 2016, 2017, and 2021, solidifying his status as one of the sport’s all-time greats.

Selby’s consistent dominance extended to his rankings performance. Between 2012 and 2018, he consistently occupied the top spot and concluded each season as the world number one.

Following his fourth world title win, Selby faced a period of declining form, during which he courageously revealed his ongoing battle with depression. Nevertheless, he continued to excel on the snooker table, evident in his impressive streak of capturing at least one ranking title each calendar year from 2014 to 2023.

Here’s a list of Mark Selby’s notable ranking event victories:

  • 2008 Welsh Open
  • 2011 Shanghai Masters
  • 2012 UK Championship
  • 2014 World Snooker Championship
  • 2015 German Masters
  • 2015 China Open
  • 2016 World Snooker Championship
  • 2016 Paul Hunter Classic
  • 2016 International Championship
  • 2016 UK Championship
  • 2017 China Open
  • 2017 World Snooker Championship
  • 2017 International Championship
  • 2018 China Open
  • 2018 China Championship
  • 2019 English Open
  • 2019 Scottish Open
  • 2020 European Masters
  • 2020 Scottish Open
  • 2021 World Snooker Championship
  • 2022 English Open
  • 2023 WST Classic

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap